Sometimes when you get frostbitten, you lose toes, or maybe fingers. When you booze too much, you lose your liver functionality. When you’ve got gangrene, you need to cut that part out. When you’ve got a pimple the size of a football, it’s always better to drain it out, no matter how deeply scarred it leaves you.

Some people are like one of those cold, gangreneous, pus-filled, trouble diseases.

The only way to fix yourself when you’re in toxic company is to cut them out. Completely.

No matter how much it hurts.

It’s always better, like I said, to lose only a part of you, than to lose all of you. And time does heal everything.

This friend of mine had been snubbing me for quite some time now. Calling me up only when she needed something done. Ignoring my calls and texts, blatantly, the rest of the time. This went on for months . I guess everything has its limits. And I also realized I’m not as patient or whatever like The Thinker sculpture by Rodin. Bummer.

image
Yup. Not me.

I was done being the doormat. Done being the moron who’s always there no matter how horrible you’re to her.

I deleted her number. And blocked her. And I can’t begin to tell you how go(oooooooooooooooo….oooooooooooooooo)od it feels. Sweet release. Like letting out a sneeze.

Many goodbyes hurt, this ain’t one. And thank God for that.

image
And go suck bananas, woman!

Have you ever outgrown a friend, cut them out of your life, because they happened to be toxic company? How did you deal with it?

Love xx

14 thoughts on “This Goodbye Won’t Hurt.

  1. About a month ago I had to get rid of a friend, and still kind of hurts. I’m slowly getting over it, it’s a bit of a battle with someone like myself who doesn’t have many friends, but cares deeply for the ones he does have. Luckily, I was able to see how much of a friend he was not and was able to cut him off.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. By drifting, I mean I don’t say goodbye or make a formal exit from the relationship. I’ve been known to slowly stop responding until they stop reaching out. If that makes sense! But I completely know what you mean!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I believe that a clean break is the best. It hurts for a while, but it mends beautifully. Definitely better than a messy break that mends just as horribly and keeps hurting!

        Like

Leave a Reply

