There are exactly thirty days left till I turn 24. Scary as eff.

I’m going to miss being in my early twenties. Mid-twenties – in fact, mid-anything – is always, ALWAYS bad news. Oh God. I’m freaking out.

First off, all my friends are getting married, which means I’m going to be the only fat gooseberry left. Awesome. And this means attending tons of weddings, and well, this:

image

I’m going to have to buy anti-wrinkle creams and lotions and eye-shadow primer. And frequent the Lancome counter. And obviously, go broke and embarrass myself. As usual. Oh my God. Is that a new wrinkle? *dies*

image
I'm definitely getting old. I like SALAD. HELP.

The part that scares me the most? I’ll definitely probably have to buy my own presents. And people would make fun of me still, like:

image
Nooooooo!

I’ll have to be less b*tchy and act mature. Mature? What am I, raw watermelon? I don’t do mature, thank you.
I’m growing old – it’s got NOTHING to do with growing up. Duh.

image
I warned you.

On the upside though…

image

Is anyone else dreading their birthday? Let me know!

78 thoughts on “Why I’m Dreading 24.

  1. I use to think about my birthday, and what’s expected of me from that age but as I am approaching twenty this year, I don’t really care much for it.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. It is, but I’m glad I don’t give a damn about it anymore. Twenty-four is young too, but as we’ve discussed, we are from two entirely different cultures, what’s expected of you is probably very different than what is expected of a mid-twenties woman in north america.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. But still, it’s the 21st Century wherever you live. Change is inevitable. If you don’t want to get married, don’t. If you want to be a doctor, continue. Regardless of what your parents say.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m definitely dreading my birthday. It means my time not only on Earth is running out but it also means I’m running out of time on other stuff like things that young people do.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my…you may already realize this, but I will say it anyway…you are worrying WAY too much about this. The level of worry you are expressing is more appropriate for someone who is, say, 34, (even 44) not 24. You have a lot more great years than you know. Trust me, I am 56, I have been there. Another thing, there are times when you will need to “act” more mature, for sure, but you do NOT ever need to let go of the child within you who likes to play. It is a great advantage to adults to maintain that level of innocence, wonder, curiosity, playfulness, etc. Do not ever think you need to change, always be who you want to be, and when you really need to, you can “act” appropriately for each situation, and still maintain your personality inside. There are LOTS of adults who “play”, and some tend to get into trouble because of it. You have a lot of time left – don’t hurry old age on yourself before you need to. I hope this helps a little.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yess I am going to turn 23 this July n I am already having creeps that my glow skin with fade with such metabolism decreasing with every passing age *Cry me a river * πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ah, LR, the best things in life lie ahead of you. The things you’ve yet to discover, about yourself and other people and this world of ours, will make the next 24 better than the first 24. And the third 24 even better than those. So relax and enjoy the ride. DL says so.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Soochie…

    I’d suggest you get yourself a little Valium (diazepam) to go with your champagne that day; it might help keep you calmer…

    Or, just think about MY next birthday… If I used makeup, to cover even a few of my wrinkles, I’d have to slather it on with a gardening trowel. It would weigh so much I wouldn’t be able to blink, or turn my head without straining something….

    It only gets worse with time; keep your sense of humor about it. Remember, next year you’ll be a whole QUARTER CENTURY OLD! (Sorry, couldn’t resist…)

    😈

    gigoid, the dubious

    😎

    Liked by 1 person

      1. SIGH…. Okay, well, perhaps a bit of transcendental meditation? Running? Whatever works to relax. & bring on those good endorphins….

        πŸ™‚

        Happy B’day, anyway!…

        gigoid

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Okay, I will, but, are you going to last until then, freaking out over the day before it happens… Oh, I get it… it’s all grist for the mill, right? Aha…

        πŸ˜‰

        gigoid, the slow, but, dubious…

        😎

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Smh at you!!! You think 24 is bad? Really? Try thinking of turning 26 in about 2 weeks. You get to 25 and everyone starts saying things like “quarter of a century…blah blah” and they make a fuss out of it while asking you of your husband. And if you happened to be married..they remind you of how age affects your chances of having babies and how waiting does not make sense to your biological clock (it certainly makes sense to my financial clock). Then you get to 26 and you get comments like “you really need to grow up…you are a full grown woman” and all you mates are having babies and no one understands why you are not

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! THE THIRTIES ARE FUCKLOADS BETTER! No joke Sooch, even tho this guy has an emoticon indicating that perhaps he doesn’t think so, honestly doll, 36 is so much better than 23, 24, or even 29! I hit my stride at about 33 or 34. All feelings of awkwardness and insecurity just kinda fell away.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. And was replaced with back pains and a belly I struggle to move, and mortgages and worries about my kid and oh how I wish I was 24 again. Though preferably without the melodrama and ex-wife.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I honestly hope you’re right. Lol. Anyway, you’ve got the fun-est personality I’ve ever known, so I’m almost sure 36 ain’t bad.

        But… Marriage. Kids. Mortgage. SHUDDER!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha! πŸ˜‚ ok so every age and point in life comes with its very own set of struggles, you just have to learn to try to roll with the punches, or at the very least not let them knock you down too hard. I have fought many fights to get to where I am at today and I am sure I have many more to come. Xoxoxoxo

        Liked by 1 person

  8. 24? Psshhh! lol I turned 25 and feel old! I do eat salad and I hated it before. Good grief. But girl don’t worry! Wait til you hit the quarter of a century! πŸ˜€ I was scared on Friday but I made the most out of it. Whoo hoo!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I should not comment because I actually don’t realize or count back to my bdate till its 1 week later πŸ˜› but yes growing old & growing up has no links πŸ˜€ but the cost of candles more than the cake was awesome πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

