It’s kind of lonely out here. This, not knowing who to call for siblingsy advice. Not knowing anything.

I remember five year old me tearfully asking Dad why everyone else had a big brother and I didn’t. Why big brother? Somehow when I picture an older sibling, I only see a big brother. Even now. Sisters fight about clothes, boys – and OMG, SHOES! NONONO. I don’t want a sister. I ain’t sharing. Ugh.

It’s crazy, how I still wish I had someone to look out for me. Someone to share cookies with and someone to stand up for me. Call me “baby sister”. Maybe I wouldn’t have been so screwed up then.

Loneliness is a curse. I do my best to keep it in, but it gets impossible at times, dealing with “hard culture” and trying to meet its expectations and being a good girl. If I had a brother, I’d be a bit of a rebel. A happy person. Sport honest-to-goodness smiles. Maybe.

There is an unfair responsibility that comes with being an only child – you grow up knowing you aren’t allowed to disappoint, you’re not even allowed to die. You’re it.

Gillian Flynn sums it up perfectly in this quote from Gone Girl.

This was the second installment of Post A Quote A Day Challenge that lovely Noorain (https://theplatememoirs.wordpress.com) nominated me for.

The rules are simple – you post a quote each day, for three days, and nominate fellow bloggers.

Today I nominate Ayushi (https://ayushijoshi13.wordpress.com).

49 thoughts on “Cursed

  1. Oh sooch, you don’t know what you’re asking for! Big brothers are as annoying as they’re amazing. Are you ready to have nose dirt put on you? On having all your food taken? For someone lording over you all the time? πŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha what? Did I say something wrong? Oh I said you are not a good girl too bad I can’t take it back. Plus you don’t strike much of a good girl πŸ‘·πŸ‘·πŸ‘·πŸ‘·

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahahaha but you already blow me…shot me after i died and cut me into piece and you still using a Poison….only you will know what type of poison works faster

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Got a younger brother, instead.*sighs*
    But he’s awesome,to be honest.Just a couple of years younger than me and shit.So,I almost get all the “benefits” of older brother.ALMOST being in the spotlight here:P

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you because I can’t imagine my life without my brother and sister especially I am an introvert.
    I think such a situation is unfair and unfortunate to the single child.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

