You know what’s the WORST thing that can ever happen to someone that claims to be a writer (or blogger)?

Having people tell you that your blog is filled with grammatical errors. When my friends do that to me, I want the ground to open up and swallow me whole. Now, I hate it when people make even itsy bitsy grammatical errors; I’m usually the one that points it out first. Yes, I’m a bit of a grammar Nazi. So imagine my embarrassment when this friend of mine points out my mistakes to me and sends me proof, no less.

image
Oh. Dear. God. Can I just, like, die?

Uh oh. Like, major UH OH. How come NONE of you pointed that out? I thought we were family! I’ve edited that post already. Never mind now.

You should have seen my face. Have you seen shiny red cherry tomatoes? Yes? Well then, have you seen tomato puree? Yes? Well then, have you seen a mix of tomato puree and paprika? I could practically hear my friend thinking: “OMG she turned an interesting shade of scarlet! Who knew it’d be THIS interesting?!”

Now, I hate criticism. Specially when I’m at the Receiving End. It sucks rotten mouldy bananas. I hate being told off. I loathe it when other people correctly point out that it’s me who’s actually wrong. Like that time I replied to strangers’ comments on Instagram and in a way, encouraged people to hit on me.

If you’re in a relationship, you’re supposed to be exclusive when it comes to being nice and talking to people, right? You’re supposed to know what your priorities should be. You can’t just be nice to everyone, because you need to remember to save your niceties for the One and Only. Right? You’re You. You don’t need to be Levi Stuart from Fangirl.

Since I didn’t know how to behave, I went ahead and removed all my pictures from Instagram. I suppose I’m too extreme. But it hurt when people accused me of “wanting and liking both attention and pity and rejecting both” just so I could “rant about it.” Over and over again. I guess I’m done. With this. This being, having my character analysis done so repeatedly it’s dissected my whole entire personality.

What do you feel about being nice to people? And where should we draw the line? What “constitutes” cheating? When is someone an attention wh*re? How do I handle criticism better? And take it SPORTINGLY?

61 thoughts on “On the Receiving End – Ouch.

    1. BTW you’re awesome. Not sure I’ve told you that enough lately. Love you darling. πŸ˜˜πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹

      Liked by 2 people

      1. πŸ˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜™πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹β€β€β€β€

        Like

      2. You are indeed awesome! Don’t ever think otherwise. Life is never fair. I’ve always known that. I love you babe.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. ‘sucks rotten mouldy bananas’? You called, I’m here. Calm down
    Don’t be nice unless they give you good reason to be.
    Draw the line where people start using you and taking you for granted.
    Cheating’s when someone goes against predefined rules. Some, however, are unspoken e.g. don’t sleep with your girlfriend’s sister, do not stare at her boobs.
    Attention seeking’s easy to explain: when you do something questionable for attention. If it’s genuine and sincere, it’s okay. People are just dicks who don’t like to understand other people.
    Take all criticism positively, even when the critic doesn’t mean well by it. This approach works for me. If it hurts you, don’t show it, or they’ll have something to use against you, and that’s not healthy.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The beautiful thing about blogging? The “edit” function….hehehehe…it gives you the chance to correct those pesky little mistakes. I used to abhor writing, but have grown quite fond of it; however, it is never fun to have people pick on your mistakes. On the other hand, it’s nice to be able to refine yourself even more.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. How did that get past my scrutiny!!? The grammar Nazi in me would have been the first person to jump up point that out. But hey, these things happen. And one just needs to accept it and move on. It’s totally OKAY to be wrong, you know.

    Regarding your second conundrum, there’s no line. And you don’t have to be good to everyone. You actually don’t have to be anything to anyone if you don’t want to. The best weapon we possess is to ignore. You respond, you react – you’re just fueling his interest more. Don’t throw a biscuit at a barking dog.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sooch my sweet baby girl, calm down and breathe. About insta… you do whatever the fuck you want, say whatever pleases you and put up ANY pictures you want to. It is YOUR PLACE TO DO SO. Ignore the haters. They are jealous. Plywood. End of story. You are a gorgeous young lady, a successful doctor and you’re intelligent and outspoken. Those things all combine to make you a target for people who haven’t made anything out of their own lives. Don’t let them get under your skin babe.
    As to editing, errors and mistakes, well my darling, we all make them. Laugh them off! You aren’t going to get a grade on your blog! 😘 πŸ’‹ ❀ ❀ I love you sweet peach!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Lolololol! πŸ˜… I was trying so hard to make my point with emphasis and it changed a very key word and made the entire thing sound ridiculous! It’s always undermining me!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Gammar Nazzis
    Maybe we don’t respond to grammatical errors because they indicate the highs and lows while writing a post or maybe I’m passive aggressive. But as extended, never to meet family, we don’t want to hurt your feelings and will accept you past, present or future tense. I make many errors and people seem to be polite about it.

    Politeness
    I prefer to have a smile for everyone. Some do take it the wrong way or sometimes you can change a person’s day by being polite and friendly. I often warn my staff to be polite and friendly but at the same time be careful since some will take it as an invitation. If the staff notices a little too much attention is coming back then it’s okay to turn down the temp and make it a little chilly. Too many people are rude and inconsiderate or indifferent I think that’s sad and against human nature. So after a day of everyone being rude the first polite person may receive a gushing response. And the abused one is so appreciative they may think you are looking for a date.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m actually not a grammar nazi and don’t really care if I miss a word or two here or there. If I and when I ever get a book published, then an editor can fix all the crap. The thing that embarrasses me the most is if someone calls my post out on something being nice instead of bitter. Then I want to grind them into bones.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I never correct people’s blog grammar. It’s a blog, who am I to expect you to proofread your blog post? It’s a first draft medium. And to me, cheating is giving your physical and/or emotional vulnerability to someone other than your partner. A little flirting? Who cares? It’s giving part of yourself that you would only give to your partner and trusting that to someone else that’s cheating.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m a Grammar Nazi too dear. Dont try to give an image of a fairytale, perfect, everything else, be urself.
    Be happy with being you. Love your flaws. Own your quirks. And know that you are just as perfect as anyone else, exactly as you are.
    You are such a alluring woman. I like your eyes very much.All the best dear.
    A smile is a curve that sets everything straight. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

