2 pm, Starbucks.

“Can I ask you something?”

“Sure. And before you ask, yes. This is my fifth slice of red velvet cake. And no, I don’t care. Okay, so you were saying?”

“Um, never mind.”

“No, go on.”

“Okay, I didn’t even know you liked red velvet cake. Or any cake.”

“I had a bad day, Jake. Needed some TLC”

Jake rolls eyes. She smacks him on the arm.

*

5:30 pm, the library.

Text message: I hate my job.

Jake: I know. You’re stuck at the library, shelving those scary books again.

She: Yes. Get me out of here.

Jake: Can I ask you something?

She: Sure.

She: OMG. A couple is having a vertical wrestling match behind the non-fiction section. D’you think I should go interrupt ’em?

She: Sorry. You were saying?

She: Great. You left. Now I’m talking to myself. Jaaaaaaaaake!

Jake: I’m here.

She: Oh good. And I’m sorry. Sometimes I feel bad for you. You have to like, put up with me all the time.

She: God, I talk so much.

She: I’m hungry. Dinner plans?

Jake: Microwave popcorn. You?

She: It’s Friday night. Go to a pub or something. Can I come?

Jake: You know I hate crowded places. I’d rather go to sleep. Or go for a walk or something.

She: You act like a 70 year old at times.

She: An Incredibly cute 70 year old.

She: Don’t get pissed. I said cute!

Jake: Hahaha. Nutter.

She: I need a break. And I gotta stretch my legs. Still going for your walk? I’m coming with.

Jake: I’ll meet you outside the library at 7.

*

7 pm, outside the library.

“Jake! You came. You’re the best!”

“Here. Coffee.”

“Halloween-y cups. Ooooo.”

“Slow down. You’ll burn your throat!”

“Sorry. I needed coffee. How well you understand me!”

“Can I ask you something?”

“Isn’t it like super chilly outside today? You’d almost think it’d start snowing in ten seconds. Don’t walk so fast, J!”

“Mmhmm.”

“You’re awful quiet. Can I ask you something?”

“Sure.”

“How’s your book coming along?”

“Nearly done. Couldn’t be more excited. I want to quit my stupid corporate job and like, seriously write.”

“So do it.”

“Not that easy. Right? Now, can I ask you something?”

“Okay.”

“Will you marry me, Lauren?”

To be continued…

20 thoughts on ““Can I Ask You Something?”

  1. You simply canNOT leave it here. You realize that, right? I will haunt you forever if I don’t get to see more on this. 🙂 I actually enjoyed reading this post a lot. “Can I ask you a question?” If we had to pay taxes on that question the world would be wealthy by now…. Good good good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. GAH! I’m with Marcus! I understand what you’re doing, how you’re building and it is very effective because, like previous commenters, I was left feeling unfulfilled. I really want a resolution. I think that’s the mark of a well written story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

