If there’s a death in the paternal side of the family, you’re not allowed to participate in anjali*?! And miss out on all the fun? My Dad’s batty older brother died last year (excuse me for being so b*tchy but that guy was a pain in the butt.**)

Who the major and actual and true-blue f*ck came up with customs like this one?

image
Like, really.

Now I’m not saying that this guy should have picked some other time to die. I’m just really astounded as to why, following a death in the family, one must follow a certain set of rules including:

1. Refraining from eating any kind of non vegetarian food, including onion and garlic – which basically happen to be the catalysts that hold Indian cuisine togetherfor a whole entire fortnight.

2. Widow remarriage didn’t really leave the Bengali community now, did it? This employee of my dad’s passed away earlier this year, and his widow showed up one day sporting bright red lipstick, and guess what happened? She got called a whore. Why is widow remarriage STILL a taboo?

image
*insert this dramatic expression*

3. Why are kids required to shave their heads once a parent passes away?

I just found out about this, and you can imagine how mad I am right now. Just because I lost one of my uncles, does this mean I’m virtually like, this untouchable, that won’t be allowed to even offer my prayers to Ma Durga? I’m pretty sure my batty uncle wouldn’t have wanted the kids to be missing out on all the fun.

So why does everyone else have a say in this?

I’m not gonna lie, I’m upset about having to cancel all my plans. But then you never know. I’m a bit of a rebel and I’m probably going to offer anjali anyway. Because that’s something I’ve always done, and no, it’s not about me being religious; it’s just something I do because it makes me focus a bit. On life, myself, everything else in general. It’s a Bengali thing, that one thing I really am proud of, how it brings people together, and I won’t let one crappy custom take it away from me.

Right?

(**Said Uncle was a pain in the butt because he was one of those people that would just come over, and never, ever, ever, leave.)

(*Anjali is the integral part of the eighth day of Durga Pooja.)

2 thoughts on “Who Comes UP With These?

  1. Hey there! I found you through a friend (or a friend of a friend) and your blog looked interesting so I thought I’d tell you. It’s October, and in honor of my birthday month I’m going to be finding 10 fun and exciting bloggers a day and strike up a conversation; who knows, maybe you’ll come visit and comment and follow me? Have a good one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

