It’s Durga Pooja, day eight, here in Bengal (and other places where they worship the Goddess, but mostly Bengal) and I managed to grab a few photos. No reason.

I’m not gonna do my usual ranty bit today, because Holy Moly, this ish is insane. I’m talking about the pandals. That actually were – for the lack of a better word – amazing.

image
Some Wiki for y'all.

So my hometown is tiny. I was born in Kolkata and I love the city, but come this time of the year, and I have to go home. I mostly just sleep and stuff myself, to be honest, because like I said earlier, I hate crowded places. But Dad and I always make it a point to go see all the pandals at like, six in the morning. Totally avoiding a lot of people and most importantly, the heat.

So this was the first one that we saw.

image
Kinda reminds me of the British rule. Redcoats. You know? I'm just crazy.

On closer inspection, you can see that every detail is hand crafted, from jute. And ropes. What?!

image
I know, right?

The next one that caught my eye? This one. This is pretty interesting because, everything you see here? It’s all made of this tree and its fruit and leaves and whatever. Like I said, insane!

image

A closer look at the details. They stuck these little shells and stuff and the whole process took more than a month. Now this makes me so mad because this is actually art. This is craftsmanship and nobody ever, ever appreciates it. (While stupid brush strokes across a blank sheet of canvas sell for billions and billions of dollars. I’m not saying we gotta sell this kinda craft. I’m talking of preserving.)

image

image
It says Suribala. Now, I've never heard of it, but I did ask them if deforestation was involved and they assured me that it was not. I hope they weren't lying with Devi Ma right there.
image
The ceiling.

Once the Pujas are over, they’re gonna take down the entire thing. I wish they’d just leave them be. Maybe I’m crazy for saying this, but I really do.

41 thoughts on “The Unappreciated Art

  1. Oh my! That’s some astounding, amazing, and beautiful handiwork there! You guys in India really know how to do it right! I took screen shots of all of those pics! Thank you for sharing them lovey. πŸ˜™πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹β€β€β€

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Beautiful pictures πŸ™‚ I always loved durga puja πŸ™‚ In our place they had only one pandal πŸ™‚ and on the 8th day we had cultural activities πŸ™‚ I remember dancing there as a kid πŸ™‚ it was fun πŸ˜€ Like you I too agree with the thought of preserving this art instead of creating it and destroying it πŸ™‚ How about having a museum for it ?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. oh my! that is some handiwork, just the intricacy of it! I want to visit Kolkata one day seriously! Here in Chennai, it’s like any other day. There is absolutely no festive mood in the air except for all the “festival sale” announcements going around!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

