Continued from “Can I Ask You Something?”

*

8 pm, still outside the library.

“Jake, wow! You’re actually proposing!”

“Yeah, I am. Been too long now. Right? It’s been what, four years?”

“…why haven’t you ever said something?”

“Let’s see. You’ve always been with a guy. How many boyfriends have you had since you got here? Um, there was Nathan, Carl, Danny, Roy, and whatshisface.”

“Hahaha. You’re making me sound like a slut!”

“Whoops. No, I’m not. It’s just that I just asked you to marry me, cause you’ve been single for almost a year now. And I really, really like you. And – hey, where you going?”

“It’s freezing. Let’s go somewhere to talk. And get some food.”

“I like it when you grab my arm like that. Great, and now you let go.”

“Pffffffft. Come on!”

*

8:30 pm. Some tiny diner. Corner booth.

“Lauren. Are you gonna say something?”

“Do you like kids?”

“What? Of course I do! I want a couple that look EXACTLY like you. Why are you looking at me like that?”

“I, uh, I like you a lot too. There’s something I have to tell you, I just don’t know how to.”

“Well, just say it!”

“I’m dying.”

“No, you’re not.”

“I am. I’m not kidding.”

“No. Just… No.”

“Which is why I haven’t been with anyone for a while.”

“…”

“Remember how much I used to smoke? Then I got pregnant. With Joel’s kid. It was an ectopic pregnancy, but I didn’t know at first, until it started hurting real bad, but he was gone by then. And I got it looked at, and they said I’d never be able to conceive again. Cause. It just damaged the uh, tubes. And it was terrible. That’s when I cut everyone out. Started smoking more. And then the next thing I knew, I had… Cancer. Mets everywhere. I’ll barely last the rest of the year.”

“No.”

“Are you crying? Jake. Stop. Look at me.”

“Just please. I want to be with you. Can’t we stop it?”

“Kinda sorta too late, J.”

“Gimme your hand. The other one.”

“Wait. Wha- oh my God. You were carrying it around the whole time?! It’s beautiful.”

“We’re getting married! In a week!”

“Yikes. Don’t tell the whole place!”

*

Lauren lost her battle with SCLC (small cell lung carcinoma). But, those six months – the marriage, Jake, everything – were the happiest six months of her life.

If you’re a smoker, and a woman, you really should quit. I’m not here to preach, I’m just telling you that you’re at a giant risk of having ectopic pregnancy. Which is one of the major causes of infertility in women.

As for the SCLC, don’t smoke or encourage it.

Passive smoking is worse than active smoking, the risks are greater when it comes to other forms of lung cancer – the NSCLC (non small cell lung carcinoma). There’s a reason why they say smoking kills. It’s dumb, and don’t do it.

31 thoughts on “Happily Ever After (With an Important Message)

  1. This was wonderful ending 🙂 and with a wonderful message 🙂 I hate smoking 😦 and I make smokers realize how much I hate it on their face 😦 Keep it up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice morality tale….

    I hate to puncture the medical model, but, it is now clear the cure for cancer has been in our hands all along, a fact which many governments know. Quite simply, research has found that cannabis compounds, of the essential oils and amino acids called cannabinoids KILL CANCER. The US National Cancer Institute published a study recently that showed cannabinoids can cause 97 types of cancer cells EXPLODE when they come in contact.

    The Big Pharma companies have also known this for 40 years, since the FIRST study, in 1972-74, at the University of Virginia medical research dept. showed the same results when they were commissioned by Nixon to find something BAD about it. Instead, they found it cures cancer, causes tumors to shrink away, stops epilepsy, and supports EVERY body system to heal itself! All this time, since the report was CLASSIFIED as secret by Nixon, the BP companies, who were awarded the research rights, have been trying, unsuccessfully, to synthesize the compounds, so they can sell them as pills.

    In the US alone, since 1976, when the report was classified secret, over 20 million people, including my father, have died of cancer…. ALL FOR NOTHING, as the cure already exists. There are now hundreds of cases you can find online of people who have cured their own cancer by taking cannabinoids; my own brother, who has lymphatic cancer, is now on the therapeutic dose needed to knock it out, and we are hopeful….

    The governments of the world have a LOT to answer for, as do the Big Pharma giants, AND the medical community…. they have all conspired to keep us victims, so they could make the TRILLIONS of dollars they make selling us cancer drugs and therapies, which kill more than they save, and put the victims through hell to do so, all completely unnecessarily….

    Spread the word. Google “Cannabis kills cancer” on You Tube and you find all the evidence you need to show this to be the truth it is….

    In the meantime, your story will definitely help…. Good one…

    Love ya….

    gigoid, the dubious

    Like

      1. Yes, I know, and agree with its seriousness as a problem…. It’s a bigger problem to know our own leaders and so called ‘business’ leaders aren’t interested at all in keeping us healthy, and would like to see us all smoking, over-eating, sitting around watching our phones, and buying pills by the car-load….

        Just sayin’….

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We all need to be, a little bit, as long as we don’t let our fear control us…. Just remember to dismiss the fear, and get angry instead…. it’s justified…

        😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

