The time zones make me crazy,
I want to be there already
I want to belly flop into that pool
In your backyard – even though I don’t swim.

I want to stay up all night talking
About everything and about nothing
I want to stroke Maya’s head
Make popcorn, watch movies, dye my hair blue on a whim.

Don’t know what this is supposed to be
Don’t quite know what you mean to me
I know I want to never stop being your friend,
I’d braid my hair like Katniss just so you’d like me more.

You know there’s somethin’ a-brewing’
When you write 4 am poems out of the blue and
Make it sound so easy
Even though you haven’t done this before.

8 thoughts on “4 AM Poems

Leave a Reply

