My Dad loves to teach. Medicine. The other day it was pulmonary medicine. Needless to say, I yawned in my head the whole time. And when he asked me to summarize, I obviously messed up.

And it began.

And Mum joined in.

And it expoloded.

And the neighborhood joined in.

Jesus H. Macy.

Does this ever stop?

No. It gets worse. It’s crazy. The way Desi parents react. My parents are a whole different level of Desi. They are more like, nuclear. Mum thinks it’s weird that since an Apple never falls far from the Tree, how am I so different? Dad wonders if I’m having some sort of cerebral short-circut-y disasters. No. I am not.

They think they can cure my aversion to medicine.

Ha. Bloody. Ha.

This thing can’t be cured. Just like the way you can’t find a cure for homosexuality. Because there isn’t one. And me? I’ve been a good kid. I haven’t broken rules. I’ve never done drugs. I just flunked med school a couple times. And my parents say it’s made them social pariahs. Like, really, Mum, Dad?

I guess everything wrong with my Desi parents originates from their false sense of being “elite”. Whatever the fuck that means.

image
"You've got me bleeding till I can't breathe."

Just leave me alone. I can’t do any better than this.

28 thoughts on “WTF Wednesday – #29

  1. It’s apparent that your parents want you to be successful. They seem to know how to be successful in medicine. This is their comfort zone. In this zone they can provide all of the guidance and advice you could ever need. Your path has led you outside of their comfort zone. We just want to be happy while our parents want us to be successful. You can be both but only on your terms. As great as your parents are trying to be, they do need to let you live your life. It’s one of the scariest things a parent will ever do for their children , but it must be done. Hope everything works out. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I know the feeling, I had been on the same page for years. I still hear them talking how should I have proceeded this course, and how could I have been much better in life (money speaking). That ‘elite’ thing annoys me so much!
    I am an apple that fell down very, very far from the tree and they still aren’t used to it. Go figure.
    Stay as you are, pursue your own dreams. It’s the only way you’ll be successful AND happy. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I can totally understand your situation. Hell I get scolded for not eating daal lol. To be honest, things won’t change. I am afraid our parents have crossed that stage where you are open to changes. Anyway, I hope things work out for you, and you end up doing whatever it is that you want to do.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Welcome to the club. *hands you the menu. I know how that feels. I know how it feels when you are forced to do something you really don’t want to do ( in my case it was engineering ). But I have found a way. I try to find the things that I can like, or love about it. It makes it less miserable. And the thing that hurts the most is this : you know you have been a good kid. You know you have not done half of the things, stupid kids do these days, but it all gets sidelined. Everything good about you, even your brilliant past academic record gets ignored. It’s like as if you did nothing good, ever.
        And parents don’t understand. And neighbors make it worse. My suggestion is this, you do what makes you happy. That’s the only solution.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

