Tarte finally jumped on the liquid lipstick bandwagon *drum roll* with their new-ish Tarteist Lip Paints. I’ll go right ahead and talk about what I think of them, and show y’all some swatches.

Price:

These retail for $20 at Sephora. I got mine from Shop and Box. (You can reach them here.)

Packaging:

The box that each lipstick comes in matches the actual color of the lipstick in the tube, and it has gold stripey lines across the whole box. The tube is a standard clear one, typical of a liquid lipstick, and contains 6 mils (0.20 fluid ounces) of product. The applicator reminds you very much of the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams’ applicators.

image
Close up of the applicator.

Range of Colors:

The Tarteist Lip Pains come in 14 shades, ranging from nudes to pinks to reds to berries, including a limited edition shade called Fomo – which I picked up. I also got hold of TBT. God, the names.

Texture:

The formula is thick, whipped, moussey and reminds you of the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams.

Application and Wearibility:

They go on really smooth, they do settle into fine lines but they don’t go cakey. There’s no patchiness nor streakiness whatsoever. The best part? They’re super hydrating for a liquid lipstick and buildable. Usually, with liquid lipsticks, you can’t reapply unless you wipe the whole thing off, but you can layer when it comes to these lip paints. Also, they never dry down completely, leaving them prone to transfer.

I wore TBT for six straight hours, and only the top layer came off, but it left behind a nice tint – which I realized that I did actually love.

Swatches:

image

tbt is a medium rosy plum and is a gorgeous MLBB shade on me.

Fomo is a muted berry plum.

Rating:

3/5

Would I recommend these?

Not really. Unless you love liquid lipsticks as much as I do, and you love hoarding. NYX sells the exact same stuff at a fraction of the price. Much as I love Tarte, you tend expect better.

11 thoughts on “Review: Tarteist Lip Paints

  1. Hey hon
    This fomo colour looks gorgeous. Should check that out. Also i’m really loving the nyx suede lipstick line.
    And yay i recently did a haul via shopandbox too. It didn’t come yet but before it came ordered the kyliejenner lip kits as well. Lolz
    Otherwise how a girl like me get stuff to sri lanka huh. Trust me I’m an apple that sorta fell away from the apple tree too. Now I’m just doing it because i have no guts/too late to change my career.Dont get me started on desi parents and gossipy neighborhood here too. 😦
    Just hang in there…..😧😧😩😒😒😒
    💅💅💅💄💄😀😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

