I’ve never driven in the hills, ever.The roads are crazy narrow. There are a million landslides. And there are clouds. But sometimes, you just need to escape into something. Just for a little while. I’ve been having a crazy month. I’m probably bipolar, and addicted to the internet. Not a good combination. 

I’m happy, I tweet. I’m mad, I tweet. I’m depressed, I tweet. 

I had to get away. 

You know how people suddenly take off, and meet people, and fall in love? Relax. None of it happened to me. I went to this place called Jhandi Eco Hut, which is like 6000 ft. above mean sea level. I can’t believe Bengal has SO much to see, and the tourism sucks bananas. Instead of doing nothing and sitting around, I wish our wonderful Didi would sort of drop being a giant bully and just have the roads fixed and tourism promoted. 

Anyway. I got some pictures. I’m not a photographer, so please excuse my lack of technique. 

You’ll find tea gardens on the way. For MILES.

The tea garden workers are such nice people, always smiling, despite the fickle weather. 

View of the valley below.
Walking among the clouds.
This is where I stayed. It’s called eco hut since it’s made of bamboo.
Raindrops keep falling on my head.
Whoa. He was easily six inches wide.
This guy scared me a little. Okay, a lot.

There were a billion species of butterflies there. I’m not even kidding. There was this guy that looked like he was fossilise, until he moved. 

Eeeee.

I loved my little getaway. It’s blissful to have one day of nobody texting you, or calling or in general, just getting on your nerves. The eco huts don’t have television, and you’re completely cut off from the world – which is a nice thing sometimes. Hot water is not a problem, so that’s good. The room rate is INR 2500 per day. 

But this place also had a lot of leeches. So if you’re planning to visit, make sure you don’t do it during the rainy season. The best time to visit would be September through November. 

I hope you enjoyed photos from my little trip! Have you been anywhere recently? What did you love about the place? 

17 thoughts on “A Little Road Trip

Leave a Reply

