When Ms Rowling doesn’t write a Harry Potter book, and lets other people do it – well, it’s a disaster waiting to happen . Oh Potter, you rotter…

First off, writing Harry Potter in PLAY FORM? That’s just wrong. On so many levels. 

The book (shall we call it that or just, more appropriately, call it trash) starts where the seventh book left off basically. King’s Cross. Harry’s youngest boy, Albus Severus gets put in Slytherin, becomes best friends with DRACO MALFOY’S son, Scorpius – who has a crush on Rose Granger-Weasley. Does any of that surprise you? 

Oh, and Hermione is Minister for Magic. That’s my favorite bit. 

Who’s the cursed child, you ask? I’d assumed it would be Albus. Or Scorpius, even. But no. It’s this whole new character called Delphi ‘Diggory’. Remember that part in Deathly Hallows when Rowling says this about Bellatrix: 

…mere words could not demonstrate her longing for closeness.

Well apparently, Bella darling did get some that night. Some post dinner Voldy/Bella action totally happened and then… Delphi. You do realize I’m shaking my head at this point, don’t you? Harry Potter isn’t a children’s book anymore if it’s talking about adultery. Bella may have found the Dark Lord broody and hot as hell, but did she really have to cheat on poor old Rudolphus? At least this guy had a nose. I mean, come on, Bella. 

Gross. 

Also, the book has quite a few typos. 

I also don’t like the fact that Time-Turners were used to alter the whole story line. The whole lot was smashed in Order of the Phoenix and should have stayed that way. You don’t fix anything Harry Potter. You just don’t. 

In other words, I positively loathe this book. Thank Goodness the book is really pretty looking. Black and gold leather(ish), hardcover. I’m nearly done with John’s reading challenge – The Cursed Child fulfils the “book published in 2016” category.

This piece of – I’m truly, utterly, sorry – crap deserves a zero rating. 

Rant over. 

20 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

  1. I LOVE THIS. I agree with the whole script form…it was a huge no-no. I feel like if this was in novel form, it would have been a hell of a lot better. Personally, I think J.K. Rowling needs to just move on…she’s extending this Harry Potter stuff to the max and beyond. I couldn’t stand the commentary parts where they said, “This is a Spartacus moment.” or, “This is titanic.” GAG ME WITH A SNITCH.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The whole story line was just so predictable. I eventually figured out Delphi couldn’t be trusted. And obviously the ending was going to be a happy one where everything turns out perfectly fine. I’m tired of Harry Potter.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I finished this yesterday and just felt it was… Empty. Don’t know whether that was the script form or just bad writing. I felt the Delphi storyline was utterly pointless – it was just a convoluted way to get to the climax of a father eventually connecting with his son. And where were Lily and James when their brother went missing? Again, pointless mention of characters.
    Enjoyed checking in with familiar faces (and quite liked Draco sounding like he was the hottest person in the room, maybe that was just me!) but agree it was overall really disappointing. Imagine it will come across better on stage but I wouldn’t rush to see it. Let’s hope Fantastic Beasts will deliver the goods.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think if they’d done it better (i.e. if JK hadn’t been lazy and farmed it out elsewhere) it could have worked – but as long as fans are chucking money her way, she’ll keep coming out of retirement.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of the woman – Potter, absolutely. But always get the feeling she thinks she’s better than most and therefore doesn’t have to try because people will still come flocking. Very judgemental, I know!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

