Of course I had to put this post up. It’s pujo season. Technically, the end of pujo season. But whatever, right? Tradition calls for new clothes, visiting the pandals (marquees that house the – usually clay – effigies of Goddess Durga and her kids. And her enemy dude. And their unusual pets) and midnight biriyani. This year, I did neither of that. 

My parents and my cousin came over to visit, and well let’s just say it wasn’t pretty. It mad me reflect a LOT on what being Bengali truly means. Like a lot, a lot. 

For starters, Bengali women are bitchy as hell. In case you’re wondering what the actual badooshes, hello what is yours truly doing here? Yep, bitching. Bengali woman, bitching. Put two and two together, can you. 

The men are sissies. They shy away from successful women, and prefer to birdwatch instead of going out and maybe getting hold of the bird. 

There’s no middle ground, we all have OCDs of some or the other sort. 

Then there are these loud conversations. If my parents are talking about faulty drainpipes in Tanzania, chances are people in the yellow house three blocks away have heard it all and are totally predicting what the next day debate will be about. And it’s not even as interesting as the presidential debate. 

Here comes the worst part. 

We look good, okay? We have eyeballs like boiled eggs that make you go awww. But when you lead us on, and leave our butts cranky, well bad news brother because Mamata Banerjee will personally get involved. I’m kidding. 

In other news, I’m depressed again, which is why I haven’t posted anything in a long time. What I did these four days was just wear a crapton of makeup and take selfies for Instagram, instead. False advertising right there. I lead a sad, vegetable life and you don’t want to be my friend, trust me. 

Four days of pooja. 

Okay, now. Enough of rambling. Happy Dusshera everyone. Please send me good vibes. 


24 thoughts on “Being Bengali

  1. Happy Dussehra to you !!

    *Dasha Hara is a Sanskrit word which means removal of ten bad qualities within you*:
    *Ahankara* (Ego)
    *Amanavta* (Cruelty)
    *Anyaaya* (Injustice)
    *Kama vasana* (Lust)
    *Krodha* (Anger)
    *Lobha* (Greed)
    *Mada* (Over Pride)
    *Matsara* (Jealousy)
    *Moha* (Attachment)
    *Swartha* (Selfishness)
    Hence, also known as *’Vijaydashami’* signifying *”Vijaya”* over these ten bad qualities.


    Liked by 1 person

  2. Testing to see if it will accept a comment from me…

    Aww… poor baby….

    Not. You’re gorgeous, little girl. Deal with it. If men are sissies, well, so be it. There are lots of them around; one of ’em got your number. Be patient, be yourself. That’s all…



    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s