Right off the bat, I could tell back in January that 2016 would be amazing as hell. I’ve never been more wrong. It was a good year, as far as the following things were concerned: 

1. Getting hella broke

2. Making iffy friends 

3. Getting stabbed in the back by said friends 

I mean, honestly, I don’t know what I’m talking about. I had a great year. NOT. 

I feel like things keep getting worse and I don’t know when the downward spiral ends. To sum it all up, 2016 was a fairytale gone horribly, horribly wrong. 

We lost so many legends. David Bowie. George Michael. Carrie Fisher – whose death I still can’t accept. We found out that we were being lied to. Need I even talk about the Lance Armstrong situation? 2016 was THE year that distorted reality reared its ugly head, mated with a monster called Publicity Stunt, and then all the hate spawn hatched. I don’t even know what 2017 will bring, and I’m really scared. 

On the personal front, I did work on myself a lot and I’m a much better person than I was back in 2015. The only downside I can’t seem to shake off is the fact that I care too much about people. Like, come on, it’s 2016, you’re not supposed to care or get involved. All you’re supposed to do is be a Yes Man and never, ever tell people how you really feel. That’s what I should be doing in 2017. 

People got competitive this year. It’s crazy how unhealthy any sort of obsession quickly gets. Whatever happened to healthy competition? It’s a girl kill girl world now and I don’t like it one bit. 


Which brings me to my new year resolutions for 2017:

1. Eat healthy 

2. Go back into my shell and NOT talk to people more than I should 

3. Avoid drama like the plague. 


What are YOUR new year resolutions? 

17 thoughts on “The Mess That Was 2016

  1. 2016 was a shitter of a year… an absolute shitter… here’s to a better 2017 (it can’t get much worse, right?)

    My New Years resolution… quit drinking, quit smoking and become a vegetarian… I’ve failed already.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

